Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      Library Journals, LLC, 2016.
    • Publication Date:
      2016
    • Abstract:
      * MEDINA, Juana. Juana and Lucas, illus. by Juana Medina. 96p. Candlewick. Sept. 2016. Tr $14.99. ISBN 9780763672089. Gr 2-4--Juana lives in Bogota, Colombia, with her dog Lucas. She loves [...]
    • ISSN:
      0362-8930
    • Rights:
      Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.
      COPYRIGHT 2016 A wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
    • Accession Number:
      edsbro.A457303123
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      WADHAM, T. Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas. School Library Journal, [s. l.], n. 7, p. 63, 2016. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 20 nov. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Wadham T. Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas. School Library Journal. 2016;(7):63. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&scope=site&db=edsbro&AN=edsbro.A457303123. Accessed November 20, 2019.
    • APA:
      Wadham, T. (2016). Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas. School Library Journal, (7), 63. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&scope=site&db=edsbro&AN=edsbro.A457303123
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Wadham, Tim. 2016. “Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas.” School Library Journal. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&scope=site&db=edsbro&AN=edsbro.A457303123.
    • Harvard:
      Wadham, T. (2016) ‘Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas’, School Library Journal, p. 63. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&scope=site&db=edsbro&AN=edsbro.A457303123 (Accessed: 20 November 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Wadham, T 2016, ‘Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas’, School Library Journal, no. 7, p. 63, viewed 20 November 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Wadham, Tim. “Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas.” School Library Journal, no. 7, 2016, p. 63. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&scope=site&db=edsbro&AN=edsbro.A457303123.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Wadham, Tim. “Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas.” School Library Journal, 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&scope=site&db=edsbro&AN=edsbro.A457303123.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Wadham T. Medina, Juana. Juana and Lucas. School Library Journal [Internet]. 2016 [cited 2019 Nov 20];(7):63. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&scope=site&db=edsbro&AN=edsbro.A457303123

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2016 July #1

*Starred Review* Juana loves many things, but learning English is not one of them. In this early chapter book, Medina introduces Juana, a spirited young Colombian girl and her lovable dog, Lucas. Juana prefers playing fútbol outdoors to wearing an itchy uniform and learning English, a language she feels is too clunky and complicated. The reluctant student finally finds some much-needed motivation when her grandfather reminds her of their upcoming trip to Spaceland, in the U.S., where she must speak English if she wishes to talk to her hero, Astroman. Through this strong, adventurous, and smart female protagonist, Medina presents an extraordinary story about the many opportunities learning a new language can bring. Full-color illustrations provide excellent depictions of Juana's life in Bogotá and allow readers to connect with her character and culture. The artwork playfully interacts with the dynamic text, which often arcs across the page, employs large fonts for emphasis, and smoothly incorporates Spanish words. Fans of Judy Moody and Lola Levine will absolutely love Juana. This upbeat new series for young readers is a must-buy. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Horn Book Guide Reviews 2017 Spring

Colombian girl Juana loves many things (especially her dog, Lucas), but not English class--until her grandfather announces a trip to the U.S. The distinctive first-person narration includes interspersed Spanish words (identifiable in context); dynamic illustrations bring Juana's energy to life. This book fills a gap in American children's literature, but it will be beloved for its warm family relationships, read-aloud-able hijinks, and sunny protagonist. Copyright 2017 Horn Book Guide Reviews.

Horn Book Magazine Reviews 2016 #6

This brisk, episodic (in the best way) chapter book introduces Juana, a young girl living in Bogotá, Colombia, who loves many things: her city, her family, reading, Brussels sprouts, and her dog, Lucas. She does not like school, though, and especially not her English class—until her grandfather announces that they will be traveling to the United States to visit Spaceland. Juana's determination to "work muy, muy hard to learn todo the English that I can possibly fit into the space between my pigtails" provides a loose framework for what follows. The first-person narration is distinctive, filled with understated humor ("[Lucas] eats math homework like a pro. The harder the homework, the faster he'll eat it") and frequently interspersed Spanish words which the reader is left to identify in context. Dynamic ink and watercolor illustrations bring Juana's sometimes misdirected energy to life, playing it against the amused affection of those around her, while vivid prose (one teacher "has a voice that sounds like it travels from down in her high heels all the way up to her mouth"), spacious design, and varying typeface underscore Juana's infectious enthusiasm for language and all its possibilities. Both comfortably familiar (this will be an easy sell for fans of Pennypacker's Clementine, for instance) and keenly specific in its setting and characters, Juana & Lucas is much needed for the gap it fills in American children's literature, but it will be much beloved for its warmly depicted family relationships, eminently read-aloud-able high jinks, and sunny protagonist. claire e. gross Copyright 2016 Horn Book Magazine Reviews.

PW Reviews 2016 July #2

A Colombian girl takes on her greatest challenge—the English language—in this cheery series opener. Juana lives in Bogotá, where she enjoys life with her family and dog, Lucas. When English is introduced in school, Juana asks everyone she knows if she really has to learn another language. Medina (1 Big Salad) incorporates italicized Spanish words throughout Juana's first-person narration, always providing enough context clues so that English-speaking readers can do some language-learning of their own ("When a grown-up says something is going to be a ton of fun, it means there will be no fun at all. Not even a single bit of fun. Nada de fun"). Enlarged words and phrases creative type placement help emphasize Juana's lively attitude as she discovers the ways that English can be useful. Medina's loose, full-color cartoons and interspersed profiles of the people in Juana's life add to the overall playfulness of the story. It's an inviting look at life in Colombia, and readers will probably be struck by just how much they have in common with Juana. Ages 5–8. Agent: Gillian MacKenzie, Gillian MacKenzie Agency. (Sept.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC